ssf logo blue Rötter - din källa för släktforskning driven av Sveriges Släktforskarförbund
ssf logo blue Rötter - din källa för släktforskning

Choose language:
Anbytarforum

Innehållet i inläggen på Anbytarforum omfattas inte av utgivningsbeviset för rotter.se

Författare Ämne: Janssonist problems in Västmanland & Uppland  (läst 1171 gånger)

2006-02-14, 23:25
läst 1171 gånger

Utloggad Karen Kelsey

• Anbytare ***
  • Antal inlägg: 354
  • Senast inloggad: 2010-11-29, 20:15
    • Visa profil
As I studied Bishop Hill, the utopian colony established by Erik Jansson in western Illinois in the mid-1840s, I read that the followers of Jansson had caused some trouble in Sweden prior to their emigration.  They believed that the Bible was the only true book, and that there should be no adornment in churches, and they rejected the established church of Sweden.  It was hinted that those who sided with Jansson may have burned books and caused destruction to churches. I know that Erik Jansson had been imprisoned prior to 1846.  Have any local historians from the Västmanland and Uppland areas done studies about the social disturbances that arose due to religious controversy?  I was curious about what the dissenters actually did to make themselves so unpopular.  I have only read the American version of their story - that they felt persecuted, but I wonder what the Swedish side of the issue is!  I do not know Swedish, so I could not post this question on the Swedish side.

2006-02-15, 10:55
Svar #1

Utloggad Anna-Carin Betzén

• Anbytare *****
  • Antal inlägg: 1112
  • Senast inloggad: 2019-10-28, 20:07
    • Visa profil
    • www.btz.se